General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Any advice for a fairly new rider?

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2006, 08:59 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Any advice for a fairly new rider?

Hey guys! I just started riding (seriously) about 3 months ago or whenever it got warm here in Ohio. ****ing weather! Anyways, I think i'm progressing pretty well. Pretty confident in my shifting and acceleration. Tight turns, like from a dead stop at a stop sign, i'm still trying to get better at. I was wondering if u guys have any advice, i'd really be gracious for any tips. Plus ive been riding in a development and am wondering when u think its time to move out to the streets. I mean i think i could deal with it now but want to hear some feedback. Thanks a lot people!

[IMG]local://upfiles/4443/58502C6E8A2D4367A0F2D49381D18463.jpg[/IMG]

Old 04-17-2006, 09:32 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Any advice for a fairly new rider?

I say go for it, just ride very defensively like you should regardless of how much experience you have. If you feel the need then stick to the smaller streets with less traffic and when your confidence builds go for busier streets. You might consider going out real early or real late and head out on the highways in your area to see what it is like going 100 or so. Don't be afraid of the speed going strait. The bike will be real stable. Always look ahead and be defensive.