F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

No Spark

  #1  
Old 09-18-2018, 02:20 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 6
Default No Spark

2001 Honda CBR 600 F4i Stunt bike

Mods: Woodcraft Bypass for key-less ignition



NO SPARK AND FUEL PUMP PRIMES'!





To make a long story short there is was a lose terminal on my battery ( ground wire ) that moved and caused a spark while my bike was running and it just died after that. My seat was off and I watched it happen. Started trying to start the bike again and it sounded like it wanted to turn over, but just would not turn. I smelled gas heavily while I was attempting to get it to turn. The battery had a 12 volt charge, but went down to about 8 volts when cranking so I replaced the battery. Tried cranking the bike again with no luck, but the starts sounded 20x better than it did with my old battery. Next phase in diagnostics was to replace the plugs which I thought maybe fouled out. Pulled them out and grounded them and still no luck. (Little side note: anyone looking for plugs for these bikes and have to run iridium check auto-zone or advanced auto they have these plugs for 50-70 percent cheaper than most bike shops (online or in person) who charge close to 20 dollars for these things!) Put new plugs in and still did not start. Checked all fuses and even replaced the main because it was so old. My initial and still current theory is that the ECM is shot, but theories only becomes theories unless disproved. So this was my new task is to disprove this theory. I broke out my trusty voltage meter again and started chasing wires. I ruled out my starter switch itself because obviously it wants to try to crank the bike. My key ignition is completely bypassed by a Woodcraft bypass for a key less ignition. The CDI box is built into my ECM so there is no way of testing that. So far things I have tested for resistance (ohms) and voltage are all four coils, coil plugs, ignition switch, and cam pulse generator. Everything I tested matched up to the manuals specification as well. Wiring harness looks pretty good and I see no visible burn marks. Outside of the ECM I do not know what to test or look for. I am hoping to disprove my theory of it being the ECM because these things are close to 1000 dollars brand new and still very pricey for a risk off Fleabay at 400-500 dollars. Anyone else have a suggestion?
 
  #2  
Old 09-26-2018, 07:14 PM
EchoWars's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 363
Default

Damn...that's awful!

Have you gone through the troubleshooting steps in the SM? Also, I'd pull the connectors on the ECM and give both sides of the connector a good visual, then firmly re-seat them.
 
  #3  
Old 09-26-2018, 07:40 PM
74demon's Avatar
Administrator and MVN, March 2012/Oct 2013 ROTM
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: socal 949/951
Posts: 8,025
Default

Fi fuse blown?
 
  #4  
Old 09-27-2018, 06:37 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 6
Default

Back with an update!!!

Bought a used ECM off Fleabay and it solved all my problems!!! Now ladies and gentlemen, since this ECM sits so close to the battery (or at least mine does) any bit of sparks coming off the battery from lose terminals could result in a shortage of an ECM and these things are not cheap at all. Keep it on twos! hopefully this post helps someone in the future.
 
  #5  
Old 09-27-2018, 06:38 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 6
Default

Originally Posted by 74demon View Post
Fi fuse blown?
As stated in the initial post all fuses were checked. A cheap individual as my self would rather replace a fuse than an ECM.
 
  #6  
Old 09-27-2018, 06:40 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 6
Default

Originally Posted by EchoWars View Post
Damn...that's awful!

Have you gone through the troubleshooting steps in the SM? Also, I'd pull the connectors on the ECM and give both sides of the connector a good visual, then firmly re-seat them.
My service manual was a great help along with my voltage tester which led me to the ECM problem. The connectors were not the issue since i never touched them to begin with. Put in a new ECM and we are all good to go now. Fried the thing lol.
 
  #7  
Old 09-27-2018, 06:42 PM
74demon's Avatar
Administrator and MVN, March 2012/Oct 2013 ROTM
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: socal 949/951
Posts: 8,025
Default

Originally Posted by Backwoodbraps View Post
As stated in the initial post all fuses were checked. A cheap individual as my self would rather replace a fuse than an ECM.
If i had a nickel every time i heard someome say that they checked all the fuses and they are good, then it turns out to be a fuse....
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Mat
CBR 600F4
0
06-27-2016 11:27 PM
baseballkid
CBR 600F4
3
10-04-2012 07:48 AM
flipsidef2
General Tech
4
12-07-2006 08:49 PM
NeonspeedRT
CBR 600F3
3
03-09-2005 07:20 AM
Nipz
General Tech
0
11-20-2004 08:10 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: No Spark


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.