F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

No headlights, horn, brake light etc.

  #1  
Old 07-02-2010, 01:52 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6
Default No headlights, horn, brake light etc.

Hey guys,

So I'm gonna work on my F4i tomorrow, and here's the issue.

My headlight doesn't work. It's plugged in, and the bike starts and runs/rides.

Also, the horn doesn't work either.

I can't test the turn signals since they have yet to be installed. (Flushmount both front and rear)

The rear running light (on the tail light) turns on, but the brake light doesn't turn on when you pull the brake lever.

Any help is appreciated!
 
  #2  
Old 07-02-2010, 04:55 AM
usetheffours's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: indy, in
Posts: 330
Default

Check all fuses.
Does the bright headlight work?
 
  #3  
Old 07-04-2010, 02:29 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6
Default

No the highbeam doesn't work at all.
 
  #4  
Old 07-04-2010, 02:56 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Detroit
Posts: 861
Default

First check all the fuses and connections, specifically the main headlight harness. Proly should replace ALL the bulbs. And check the adjustment on the brake lever sensors. I adjusted mine to turn on the light just before the pads grab. If you got the signals used, get a multi meter and double check which wire is hot and which is ground, some aftermarkets' use a green wire for the hot, and on the bike green is ground. If they're new, follow the directions.
 
  #5  
Old 07-04-2010, 03:04 PM
woot's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 1,127
Default

Definitely the fuses... it happens some times.

Is any of the wiring questionable? If the contacts of the indicator wires touched then you have found the cause - insulate them or wire them up to the new indicators before continuing.

Then? Just replace the fuse... they are cheap.
 
  #6  
Old 07-04-2010, 03:48 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 149
Default

Fuses... If you have any wiring mods you should double check the connections whether they are connected to the proper wires and if they have quality connections (shouldn't be connected with wire nuts or twisted together and taped). If the fuses are blown, there is a reason...
 
  #7  
Old 07-04-2010, 06:40 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: phoenix for now
Posts: 99
Default

i dont think the bike would start if fuses to the headlight were blown. have you checked the bulbs? horn is probably just shot. check continuity and replace if its broke
 
  #8  
Old 07-04-2010, 09:48 PM
woot's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NS, Canada
Posts: 1,127
Default

It will start - I've taken the headlight fuse and put it into the turn signal slot...
 
  #9  
Old 07-04-2010, 11:43 PM
Lowridese's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Central PA
Posts: 122
Default

Def fuses, had mine go out when messing with part of my wiring and it blew out all lights and gauges.
 
  #10  
Old 07-05-2010, 12:46 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2010
Location: ventura, ca
Posts: 20
Default

There is a green wire that goes from the front to the back. If it is not the fuses start tracing the green wire that is the ground wire for the whole bike.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
D3AD
General Tech
5
03-21-2010 02:41 PM
hawk600rr
General Tech
14
10-07-2008 05:43 PM
Hayden06F4i
General Tech
11
06-17-2008 09:50 AM
njdjh2o
CBR 600F3
4
04-04-2008 10:00 AM
mkhaynesaz
1000 Modifications
2
07-13-2006 04:36 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: No headlights, horn, brake light etc.


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.