F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

MAP Sensor Code and Idle Issues

  #1  
Old 04-27-2012, 05:20 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Camp Verde, Arizona
Posts: 30
Unhappy MAP Sensor Code and Idle Issues

Hey guys,

Every once in a while my bike with throw an FI code at me. 2 blinks. Which means "Bad MAP Sensor". I replaced the MAP sensor and the issue didn't go away. When this happens, the bike runs EXTREMELY low on idle almost to the point of dying. About 10 seconds later it will MAP itself out flashing the code. At this time it idles fine. Once the bike is at full operating temperature I can shut it off and restart it without the any problems and the MAP code is no longer there. Any ideas on this?

Also,
I live at about 4000-5000 feet elevation. Up here it seems like the bike is SLUGGISH. Almost like a carbed bike jetted for sea level. Very rich feel, sound, and smell to it. Since I already replaced the MAP sensor... What else should I be looking for?

Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks!
 
  #2  
Old 04-27-2012, 05:29 PM
74demon's Avatar
Administrator and MVN, March 2012/Oct 2013 ROTM
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: socal 949/951
Posts: 7,976
Default

check for vacuum leaks and test the source vacuum at the line. other than that, test your voltages at the ecm.
 
  #3  
Old 04-27-2012, 05:45 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Camp Verde, Arizona
Posts: 30
Default

Originally Posted by 74demon View Post
check for vacuum leaks and test the source vacuum at the line. other than that, test your voltages at the ecm.
Are implying to whip out the can of carb cleaner and go to town on the vacuum lines while at idle? What's the best way to check these lines?
 
  #4  
Old 04-27-2012, 05:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Camp Verde, Arizona
Posts: 30
Default

Originally Posted by 74demon View Post
check for vacuum leaks and test the source vacuum at the line. other than that, test your voltages at the ecm.

Also, I still have the O2 sensor in the exhaust. I'm thinking to just bypass the O2 sensor since I'll be putting on an aftermarket pipe anyway. Doing so will eliminate that from reading wrong...
 
  #5  
Old 04-27-2012, 05:49 PM
74demon's Avatar
Administrator and MVN, March 2012/Oct 2013 ROTM
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: socal 949/951
Posts: 7,976
Default

the best way is smoke if you have a smoke machine, but carb cleaner works too if you dont. hook a vacuum guage to the hose to make certain its within spec.
 
  #6  
Old 04-27-2012, 10:52 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Camp Verde, Arizona
Posts: 30
Default

Originally Posted by 74demon View Post
the best way is smoke if you have a smoke machine, but carb cleaner works too if you dont. hook a vacuum guage to the hose to make certain its within spec.

So, take it in to the shop.....check. Hahaha.
 
  #7  
Old 04-28-2012, 05:57 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Camp Verde, Arizona
Posts: 30
Default

Got it fixed.... You were right bro. It was vacuum. Actually.... the hose to the MAP sensor was completely clogged.
 
  #8  
Old 01-21-2013, 02:48 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 138
Default

I had same issue, turn out that he MAP vacuum hose was blocked.

Thanks cbrryno, you just save me a lot from buying a new MAP sensor
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
cbrryno
F4i - Main Forum
6
09-09-2011 07:44 PM
k2comer
General Tech
1
02-07-2008 03:46 PM
redlink15
CBR 954RR
9
06-13-2007 12:05 PM
The Twisted Grip
CBR 929RR
1
09-15-2006 06:41 PM
The Twisted Grip
General Tech
0
07-10-2006 01:49 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: MAP Sensor Code and Idle Issues


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.