F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

At a lose

  #1  
Old 03-26-2011, 08:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 51
Default At a lose

Ok guys ive done everything I know how to do. On the way into work the other day the bike was running extremely rich. Backfiring when you decelerate and such. Then it will stall at a light. I'll pull in the clutch to stop, the RPMs will dip to 500 and stall but the bike will start right back up. It throws a code every now and then but not consistently. The code shows teh MAP sensor. I just pulled everything apart today and put it back together. Bike started fine, idled a lil low for start up but picked up. Warmed the bike reved it to around 6k let off and RPMs dipped again but didnt stall. Did it a second time and it shot a foot flame out the exhaust. Any ideas? Im getting antsy. For the record I disconnected my PCIII also.
 
  #2  
Old 03-26-2011, 08:32 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Greenville , NC
Posts: 346
Default

sounds like fouled plugs to me
 
  #3  
Old 03-26-2011, 08:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 51
Default

Just changed those out today. Wondering if its timing?
 
  #4  
Old 03-26-2011, 09:32 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Greenville , NC
Posts: 346
Default

what kind of bike? maybe the regulator is toast?
 
  #5  
Old 03-26-2011, 09:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 51
Default

its a 2005 CBR600 f4i. I think I have around 28k on it. Idk if it helps but im running a two brothers and k&n filter and PCIII. Regulator? what does that control?
 
  #6  
Old 03-27-2011, 12:39 AM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: hamburg nj 07419
Posts: 94
Default

a code is a code fix whats its tellling you is wrong. sounds like your having a fueling issue. if it was timing the bike would run like crap at all rpm . if its says thie map is bad replace it
 
  #7  
Old 03-27-2011, 07:42 AM
xricer's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SW Ontario, Canada
Posts: 162
Default

Originally Posted by spoolie25 View Post
a code is a code fix whats its tellling you is wrong. sounds like your having a fueling issue. if it was timing the bike would run like crap at all rpm . if its says thie map is bad replace it
+1 new map sensor
 
  #8  
Old 03-27-2011, 08:42 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 51
Default

Correct me if im wrong but if it was all the MAP sensor wouldnt the code light come on every time I started it? Only throws the code when its a cold start. THe engine will idle at 1000 RPMs for a bit then rise to 1700.
 
  #9  
Old 03-27-2011, 10:13 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Greenville , NC
Posts: 346
Default

the fpr regulates the pressure the fuel is going into your cylinders.
 
  #10  
Old 03-27-2011, 11:16 AM
LJ Harp's Avatar
Official CBRF Decal Man
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 583
Default

Have you even tried remapping it? Sounds like what's giving you hell.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: At a lose


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.