F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

H7 bulbs

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2008, 11:02 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default H7 bulbs

First off I'd like to state that I am a total newb to motorcycles.... but my questions are- In the F4I, one light is specifically for the low beam and the other is the high beam correct? So when I would have the low beams on only one light would illuminate... and when the high beams are on would both illuminate? All this being said... when shopping for H7 bulbs, are there such things as motorcycle specific bulbs- one bulb having 1 filament for the low beam, and one bulb having 1 filament for the high beam? I'm familiar with car lights and normally there are a pair of filaments in each light which operate in unison... All this being said- if regular "car" H7 bulbs are used in the F4I, would the normal light housing hardwarebe able to handle a high wattage bulb... say 100W vs. the normal 55W... or would that require an aftermarket light housing? Thanks guys!

Old 09-25-2008, 11:05 AM
Registered Users
Default RE: H7 bulbs

the bulbs in for each are the same....the one side is 'high' because of the reflector housing....that is why you can't easily switch to a dual filament bulb to run both lights at the same time at low....

as for bulb switching, you might want to consider HIDs....they have kits on ebay that a lot of people use on here for less $100 with ballasts to give you a nice HID look and improve the lamps....now you'll still have one low and one high, but they look very very nice....

Old 09-25-2008, 11:08 AM

I agree on the HIDS, yes they are both the same lights and the only difference is the reflectors.
Do you have the bike yet?

Old 09-25-2008, 11:17 AM

I'm picking up the bike on saturday. So are you saying that in fact, yes- the F4I uses a pair of single filament H7 bulbs specifically designed for motorcycles instead of dual filament "car" H7 bulbs?

Old 09-25-2008, 11:41 AM