F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Getting a bike (probably one of many same posts)

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-2005, 02:03 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Getting a bike (probably one of many same posts)

Ok just like to introduce myself. Im gonna be 19 soon and am seriously contemplating getting a bike soon (new). I am about 5' 7" and 155 going into the Airforce soon so i need to swap the car for a bike for easy management.

Ive narrowed down my top choices and would like to get some feedback from you guys.

Honda CBR 600F4i (probably your favorite obviously)
Yamaha YZF R6 (light, fast and sleek, but is it better?)
Suzuki GSXR600 (cheapest=best?)
Kawasaki Ninja ZX6R (have seen it called Crapasaki, why)

Obviously i am a new rider, is there one that is better for a beginner? Ive toodled around with my dads Suki Bandit and consider myself very self controlled (did many track events in my car and realize limits well) but i am a beginner with these and want to know some opinions.

Thanks for reading this and if all goes well i hope to join you guys.
ALan

Old 07-11-2005, 01:03 PM
Default RE: Getting a bike (probably one of many same posts)

The honda is awesome. Beautiful design, bulletproof...

The yamaha is bad to the bone. It's not fuel injected until 2003, which is a problem for me. Also the 98-02 models had problems with the trannys. 2nd gear dies, and you need to replace it. check r6messagenet.com and search 2nd gear... You'll find hundreds of guys that have replaced their tranny's, 2nd gear, many times in just thousands of miles. Plus the carb... That's why I bought the honda.

The Suzuki is a good bike, I just don't like the styling. It's very dime a dozen, so you won't have a problem tracking one down for cheap. Everybody and their brother has a gsxr. The older ones are very ugly, IMO. The back end, the single light up front... I don't dig it.