F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Friction Zone

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2009, 12:27 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Friction Zone

I did some searching on line but I never found all that much about the friction zone. What I am wondering is if it is possible to adjust where it starts when you release the clutch handle.

I am very new to this so perhaps I am misguided but I start to hit the friction zone when the clutch is released perhaps half way. To me that seems pretty far out especially when trying to just feather the clutch.

I have seen info on setting how quickly the clutch disengages. My clutch handle moves a good distance maybe 1 inch before it starts releasing the clutch so I think that is within the spec in the manual.

I guess adjusting the friction zone closer to the handlebar would mean that you would have to pull the clutch handle farther to disengage which would a down side if my thoughts on this are correct.

So is the point where you hit the friction zone based upon the clutch and how new or old it is or is their some way to adjust it. I guess just as important if it is possible what are the implications of moving it closer to the grip?

Old 04-30-2009, 12:42 PM
Official CBRF Welcome Crew Undercover Agent
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I used to find it somewhat of a far reach at first, but I'm now accustomed to it. Your best bet would be an adjustable aftermarket lever(s). You could try tightening the clutch cable more, but the manual states there should be 10mm-20mm of free play.

Old 04-30-2009, 12:46 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Agreed^. My buddy just got a set, not sure what kind, I'll ask. But they've just got a little switch for 6 different settings. you can change them ANY time. So for cruising I'd just set them further out, and have plenty of finger room. And the play is easily adjustable as well.

Old 04-30-2009, 02:24 PM