F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

chain adjustment

  #1  
Old 07-29-2010, 02:21 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: F4i Zone, Canada
Posts: 40
Post chain adjustment

so.. i adjusted my chain like 2 days ago. Done about 300 km's so far and the chain already seems to be loose again.

after the adjustment, i also lubed the chain.
the bike was on a swing arm stand/ the front wasn't on a stand.
made sure the 27mm/21mm bolts are nice and tight.
am also sure, i didn't over tight them (although irrelevant).
checked sprockets and looks ok!
chain life is in the middle (middle part of the white block, in between the new/replace area)

any idea why this would have happened?

thanks.
 
  #2  
Old 07-29-2010, 03:24 AM
DonnyBrago's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 377
Default

IME chains coming to the end of their life go from not wearing at all to wearing very quickly. How old is the chain, does it look clean and non rusty etc etc?

If you need to keep adjusting it then it would suggest the chain is dead and should be replaced.
 
  #3  
Old 07-29-2010, 05:13 PM
supersnake83's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location:
Posts: 533
Default

Make sure you adjust your chain to the tight spots. Meaning, while your rear wheel is off the ground on the stand, slowly rotate the chain until you get a tight spot. The tight spots are where/what you want to loosen.

Once all of your tight spots are loosened enough to be in normal operating specs, rotate the chain to find the largest slack spot. If your largest slack spot has more than 2 inches of slack either up or down, then it is time to replace your chain regardless of where the chain replacement markers are.

Ideally, the largest slack spot of your chain should be between 1 - 1 3/8" of slack. Anymore and you can have troubles.

Page 3-19 in the service manual will help you if you need to reference it.

Cheers and happy safe riding!
 
  #4  
Old 07-29-2010, 06:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: F4i Zone, Canada
Posts: 40
Default

Originally Posted by DonnyBrago View Post
IME chains coming to the end of their life go from not wearing at all to wearing very quickly. How old is the chain, does it look clean and non rusty etc etc?

If you need to keep adjusting it then it would suggest the chain is dead and should be replaced.

i've had the bike for just about 3 months and done about 10000km's. the chain looks clean and non rusty. i had cleaned/lubed it about 500 km's ago and wanted to adjust prior to the last weekend. hence did so and after about 250-300 km's of riding, i notice the chain is loose.
 
  #5  
Old 07-29-2010, 06:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: F4i Zone, Canada
Posts: 40
Default

does chain slack differ from position to position?


Originally Posted by supersnake83 View Post
Make sure you adjust your chain to the tight spots. Meaning, while your rear wheel is off the ground on the stand, slowly rotate the chain until you get a tight spot. The tight spots are where/what you want to loosen.

Once all of your tight spots are loosened enough to be in normal operating specs, rotate the chain to find the largest slack spot. If your largest slack spot has more than 2 inches of slack either up or down, then it is time to replace your chain regardless of where the chain replacement markers are.

Ideally, the largest slack spot of your chain should be between 1 - 1 3/8" of slack. Anymore and you can have troubles.

Page 3-19 in the service manual will help you if you need to reference it.

Cheers and happy safe riding!
 
  #6  
Old 07-30-2010, 05:16 AM
supersnake83's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location:
Posts: 533
Default

Originally Posted by zone01racer View Post
does chain slack differ from position to position?
Yes.

So does chain tight spots.
 
  #7  
Old 07-30-2010, 08:12 AM
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4
Default

yep...
you can try to free them up a bit by working some lubricant into those joints and moving them about..
 
  #8  
Old 08-03-2010, 09:20 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: F4i Zone, Canada
Posts: 40
Default

thanks for all the pointers.

now that i am considering replacing my chain, what is the length of the stock chains on the 05 f4i? i realize the sprockets are 16/49 does this indicate the chain length? if so, how do you obtain that?

thanks again.
 
  #9  
Old 08-03-2010, 10:49 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NOVA
Posts: 778
Default

stock is 108 links 525 pitch 16/46
 
  #10  
Old 08-07-2010, 07:19 AM
any2wheels's Avatar
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 17
Default

Did you say you did 10,000 km in three months?
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
TheHeggi
F4i - Main Forum
15
08-11-2010 04:58 PM
94fireblade
General Tech
1
05-03-2009 09:40 PM
Perranomous
CBR 600F
2
04-19-2009 03:04 AM
scruboak
F4i - Main Forum
13
11-07-2007 12:19 PM
mmaniaci
General Tech
2
07-25-2007 06:50 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: chain adjustment


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.