F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Brake lever problem, need advice.

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2013, 06:57 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brake lever problem, need advice.

Afternoon, gents. I was attempting to change my levers back to the stock ones just for fun and to compare the feel of them to the CNC shorty levers I've been riding with for a few months now and realized that the brake lever doesn't have anything to engage the brake. The underside of the brake lever has some holes that look like something is supposed to go in to reach out and push the thing (sorry, don't know the actual part name) on the brake reservoir. I'm sure somebody will know what I'm talking about. I'm wondering if that is a par that can be ordered or if I need to order a new lever (or set of levers). I see some cheap ones on ebay and around the parts sites, I'm not that fond of spending $27 per lever for OEM though.. Not when it looks like you can get a set on fleabay for about $15. Any recommendations?

Ps. I totally get the argument for not running cheaply made Chinese stuff, especially when it comes to braking or tires etc. but I can't imagine the quality of the ebay 'OEM style' levers could be that much lower than the Honda OEM ones. Can someone confirm or deny that?

Thanks for any help guys.

Old 10-06-2013, 07:10 PM
Administrator and MVN, March 2012/Oct 2013 ROTM
Received 117 Likes on 107 Posts

Pics would help.

The lever pushes directly on the master cylinder. Remove the nut on the bottom of the pivot bolt, then the bolt. New lever should go right on the same way.

Old 10-06-2013, 08:08 PM

Originally Posted by 74demon
Pics would help.

The lever pushes directly on the master cylinder. Remove the nut on the bottom of the pivot bolt, then the bolt. New lever should go right on the same way.
I can get pictures tomorrow. At the moment I'm not near the lever.