F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Bike only shifts between first and second gear....

  #1  
Old 05-11-2014, 07:42 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 5
Default Bike only shifts between first and second gear....

Hi all-

just got my bike out of winter storage and was all ready for my first ride. bike starts no problem, but is a little weird when shifting in first. I try to put it back into neutral and it's hard to find (this is all while im sitting on the bike, not moving). I go back up into first and ride away, bump it into second (kinda sluggish feeling in shift lever), go for third and it won't go. Stomp on it and it will not go into third. Pull the bike over and try to go through the gears while stationary and same thing, will move between first and second but third and beyond is impossible.

I've never had a problem like this before. When i last rode the bike everything was fine. Before i winterized it i drove it from texas up to philadelphia in a snow storm. It got covered in snow/salt which i washed off and then i dryed it and sprayed it with a silicon spray for protection. It was on it's kickstand the whole winter and might have been left in gear. Im saying this because it might be a clue into what went wrong.

Oil level is fine, clutch cable is fine. Nothing was changed since I last rode it.

I don't think its clutch plates, I did get it up to operating temperature and rode around in 2nd for a while and nothing loosened up or improved.

Does anyone have an idea of what's going on? Any idea where to start or what I should be looking for? I'm at a loss because I've never had a problem like this and I have no idea what might be causing it.

Thanks in advance for any help or ideas!
 
  #2  
Old 05-13-2014, 12:04 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: London, UK
Posts: 56
Default

Few things could go wrong and cause that problem;
1 clutch/ adjustment and plate
2 Gear selector star/brain
3 gear selector forks.

or the engine is totally fine it just the gear linkage need adjusting/ tightening. The stock gear lever I had have lots of play in there and won't select gear properly sometimes.

if not, its probably time to drain the oil and see if theres anything coming out with it; then check clutch and gear selector/shift star is working, if its not 1 or 2 then you will need to take the engine out, split the case and see whats going on inside the gearbox.
 
  #3  
Old 05-13-2014, 12:40 PM
"A"'s Avatar
"A"
"A" is offline
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Phila. PA-Bklyn, NY
Posts: 215
Default

How old is the oil? when was the last oil change and what grade of oil was used?

Are you in Philly currently?
 
  #4  
Old 05-14-2014, 10:02 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for the responses, it's much appreciated.

I'm praying that it's either 1 or 2 from above, splitting the case is beyond my abilities....

In the next few days I'm going to dig into it and see what's going on, starting with 1 and 2. As far as oil goes, last season's oil is in there (was changed and levels are fine (Amsoil) and all the levels are fine.

I'll post updates when I make any progress....
 
  #5  
Old 05-14-2014, 10:03 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 5
Default

Oh, and yes, I'm currently in the Philly SW burbs.
 
  #6  
Old 05-14-2014, 04:49 PM
"A"'s Avatar
"A"
"A" is offline
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Phila. PA-Bklyn, NY
Posts: 215
Default

"Last season's oil" does that mean it's more than 6 months old?

Any sign of water in the oil?

I'm near Valley Forge area, if you are close enough, I can come take a look.
 

Last edited by "A"; 05-14-2014 at 04:53 PM.
  #7  
Old 06-30-2018, 03:38 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 1
Default

Did anyone ever figure out what the problem was and the solution?
 
  #8  
Old 07-25-2018, 04:23 AM
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2
Default Just saved a friends bike doing the same thing

so I just bought a 03 CBR600 off a friend because he was having the same problem, Ive had it literally for a day but wondering what the solution was? He was a touring musician and the bike had kinda been neglected so Iím hoping itís nothing to serious
 
  #9  
Old 07-25-2018, 07:32 AM
fullmetalf4i's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: florida/mississippi
Posts: 148
Default

That sounds like shift forks. Had that happen to one of my race bikes where it wouldnt engage 4th gear.
 
  #10  
Old 11-01-2018, 01:49 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 11
Default

Sometimes its just that the shift lever is filthy. had the same problem with mine and took the gear selector off cleaned it all up and greased the rotating part put it back on and was brand new shifted grand after that.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
tensegrity
F4i - Main Forum
3
06-18-2015 11:55 AM
hillbilly86
CBR 1000F "Hurricane"
23
04-09-2014 08:36 PM
moudaddy
CBR 600F2
10
05-15-2007 07:03 PM
Mstngdrew232
General Tech
3
05-09-2007 01:04 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Bike only shifts between first and second gear....


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.