F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Banana Seat Idea

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2009, 04:55 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Banana Seat Idea

Hi there, I am new to the forum but I have been viewing for many months now. I didn't want to post another seat question thread because people really seem to tear those people apart, instead this thread is about my current seat project. I have a 06 f4i with the banana seat. The seat is decent but lacks at around 10 hrs. My rides take me everywhere and my butt gets acustomed to most of the riding but not all. So instead of buying a Corbin or Sargent, I decided to make my own little invention. I took the vinyl off the orginal seat and then took the foam off the plastic frame. I got a exacto knife and cut a large divit into the orginal foam where my butt and little general ride. The divit was about 1" deep and took up almost the entire flat surface of the drivers seat. I then got about 5 tubes of high quality silicon caulk from the hardware store (stay with meon this and have a very open mind). I thenfilled the divit withsilicon at 1/4" incriments so it all dried. Now I'll stop here and tell youthat I was very questionative when it came to this thought but said to hell with it, I'll buy a Corbin if i mess this up.I restapled the vinyl and tried it out for the first time last week. AllI ahve to say is- holycrap what a difference. I loved it so muchI took the vinyl off and did the same thing to the passenger section.On top of that I put a 1/4" line of silicon in the shape of an iron cross on the passenger section so now whenI put the vinyl back on, it'll raise up the section and show an outlined iron cross. NowI know people are going to boo this and probably make fun of me, but to that I say: what partshave youMADE for your bike? Thanks for reading this looong post but I figured someone might want to try it.

Old 01-21-2009, 05:37 PM
Default RE: Banana Seat Idea

**** knocker? seriously?