F2 Tech Tech Subsection (for any mechanical, repair, and DIY threads)

Clutch problem, I think!!!

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2011, 11:03 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Clutch problem, I think!!!

I am new to sport bikes and fixing bikes. I have a 94 f2 and when I really twist on the throttle it revs up like the clutch is slipping. It only revs after about 5000 rpms. If you all think that it is the clutch, then the next question is, what clutch is the best to get for the money?

Thanks for the help, this site is great!!
Because of this site, I have $300 invested in my $500 motorcycle and that money is for the paint job. The previous owner couldn't get it started, so I gave him $500. I cleaned the carbs and resealed the petcock. It runs like it's brand new, except for the clutch issue!!

Ilook forward to the responses

Old 05-24-2011, 11:51 PM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I'm assuming you mean while rolling down the road in gear with the clutch lever released, you roll onto the throttle and the bike revs up but doesn't pull until it has wound up the rpms a bit?

Your cable might just be adjusted a little tight, meaning the cable is sligtly pulling on the clutch @ rest.
how much free play do you have in the clutch lever - there should be 10-20mm of pull before you feel resistance really kick in.

Old 05-24-2011, 11:56 PM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

also - have you changed the oil recently? What brand did you put in it? If you didn't put motorcycle specific, or comparable oil, in it then it could be causing the clutch to slip.

Standard automotive oil typically has additives that are great for motors, but not for wet clutches.

Old 05-25-2011, 12:07 AM

Originally Posted by adrenalnjunky
also - have you changed the oil recently? What brand did you put in it? If you didn't put motorcycle specific, or comparable oil, in it then it could be causing the clutch to slip.