F2 Tech Tech Subsection (for any mechanical, repair, and DIY threads)

Buy a bike that won't start?

Search this Thread

Old 09-26-2012 | 11:57 AM
|
Default Buy a bike that won't start?

Looking for my first bike and found a '92 F2 that won't start. Seller says that a Honda tech recommended a carb service - asking $900 (has minor cosmetic touchups/repaint and needs a turn signal fixed)

Granted I have zero experience with sportbikes, I'd like to learn a bit on something older. I drive an old saab as a daily driver so I'm used to meticulous maintenance.

I know this isnt a great idea, I'm just trying to get a feel for how much of a nightmare it could be. I have some help available to clean carbs, but not sure about how to sync them.

Any opinions are greatly appreciated. Looking to buy an older CBR before the desperate sellers pull their ads for winter.

Old 09-26-2012 | 12:13 PM

so it will turn over?

Have the seller pull the fuel tank, and intake cover/filter. spray starting fluid down the carb throats and see if they can make it at least fire off. It'll be rough, but will at least tell you the ignition system is working.

I'd also feel better with a compression test performed that shows good. Milky color in the coolant is another thing to look for.

Old 09-26-2012 | 12:42 PM
|

Not sure if it turns over. Im hesitant to believe anything the seller would tell me. He could say "Oh well it turned over yesterday..." etc. I'm apprehensive that a carb service would make someone get rid of a bike for so cheap but I'm hoping that's the case.

Discolored coolant would indicate headgasket correct? Compression check was on my mind also.

Any trouble with trans/clutch/electrics on this model? How much can I inspect if the bike doesnt even want to cough over? (besides bad ignition system)

Thanks for the input.

Old 09-27-2012 | 05:14 PM