CBR 954RR 2002 - 2003 - CBR 954RR Forum

CBR Noob, need your opinion

Search this Thread

Old 09-07-2007, 04:32 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default CBR Noob, need your opinion

Hey guys. New to the forum, and need some advice from you 954 owners. I have the chance of picking up a really nice 954, only issue is the bottom of the motor is trashed. Good news, another local guy has the exact motor I need and for a good price too. So I think to myself, old engine out new engine in, shouldnt be TOO hard and I get one hell of a bike for a great deal. But then I think, am I getting in over my head? Im fairly new to motorcycles (i have my own Kawa but havent needed to work on it much) but I have LOTS of experience with cars. I have most tools and have done just about everything you can to autos, but not bikes. So say I have a completly complete engine to replace the bad one with, how much work am I looking at here? Whats the best way to go about replacing the engine? Put the bike on stands? Thanks in advance to anyone who took the time to read this and give an honest responce. Hopefully soon, you will be welcoming me as a new 954rr rider

Old 09-07-2007, 04:36 PM
VP
Default RE: CBR Noob, need your opinion

honestly man I know that replacing an engine is really time consuming and something you have to commit yourself too... getting the old engine out only takes a half a day, but putting the new engine in and rewiring it can take several days if you are properly meticulous... my advice is if you're going to buy your first bike get one that already runs and work on it before you take on a project like this

Old 09-07-2007, 06:18 PM

ORIGINAL: hoke