mototune break in?

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2007, 03:21 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default mototune break in?

Well hello. Noob here with a question. I've been away from bikes for 10 years and I did something stupid I bought a brand new bike that's a little beyond my skills so far. I got my motorcycle safety class this week. Anyways I got to break in the motor. I'm going to use the mototune method to break in the motor. Here's the link

http://www.mototuneusa.com/break_in_secrets.htm

I read about this method before, and seen it used on corvette, jeep and import turbo motors before. So I got to put it through it's paces for the first 20 miles, and then the next 100 - 200 miles. Up and down through most of the RPM range. Not going to kill it, but making sure it's broke in right. the site even says you don't have to take it over 65mph to break it in, but I'll probably push it through most of the gears too.So next Saturday my brother and I going to trailer it out to a long straight road(about 10 mileslong both ways) with almost no traffic. I'll run it up and back several times and change the oil several times. Depends on how long it takes, and how quickly my brother runs out of time(up to his wife) but my goal is basically to get as much of first 200 miles broke in, so that if I baby it on the way to work it doesn't hurt me in the long run.

Sorry if this belongs in the noob section, didn't see anything on this type of break in when I searched.

Anyways just asking if there was any advice from the more experienced.
Thanks.

Old 01-08-2007, 07:16 AM
Retired Moderator
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: mototune break in?

Just skimmed over that site, and I read a "ride it hard" thing, which I'm not to keen on. Yes, put it through the RPM's and gears, but I wouldn't ride it hard. Here's how my dealer, friends and track buddies advised me when I broke in my motor (on my bike and car).