CBR 600F3 1995 - 1998 CBR 600F3 Forum

retarded timing help-

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2011, 03:25 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default retarded timing help-

what: cbr 600 f3 97 motor

problem: i bought a f3 super cheap cause it wasnt running when i got it. appearently the kid i bought it from when he changed the sparks to try to get it to start he put the ignition coils/plugs in the wrong order. it was attempted to turn over with the sparks firing in the wrong order- now im not a autotech pro but does this mess up the timing? because i had found the problem earlier put the plugs on the proper order then it started up for a while and it was running a little weird but still ran. so i tried to start it the other day and all it does now is back fire and shoots flames out of the can. carbs are cleaned sparks are new, air filter is good, so im thinking its the timing, can anyone confirm and how do i fix this ? thank you in advance

Old 01-15-2011, 04:25 PM

i dont think that would effect timing, you would just have spark at the right time in the wrong cylinder. what exactly do you mean by, running a little weird? i would check fuel flow from the pump next

Old 01-15-2011, 04:53 PM

Originally Posted by colorado_steve
i dont think that would effect timing, you would just have spark at the right time in the wrong cylinder. what exactly do you mean by, running a little weird? i would check fuel flow from the pump next
by weird i mean it was running but like foggy boggy slow response to throttle like the carbs were dirty but they are perfect, and i have new throttle cables it was have trouble idling but once it warmed up it run fine seemingly. as for the fuel line i just replaced it and theres no pump i bypassed it because it didnt work when i got it, that was the first thing i checked and i put new fuel line going to the carbs from tank

Old 01-16-2011, 12:18 AM