CBR 600F3 1995 - 1998 CBR 600F3 Forum

Bike Dies When Put In Gear??

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2012, 02:40 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Bike Dies When Put In Gear??

I bought a 96 f3 that had the engine rebuilt and a new paint job done and the bike was dropped out of a truck on the way home from the paint shop and the front forks and headlight an fairing were destroyed.
The bike will still start and run and I have ordered a pair of forks which I was told was the only thing preventing it from driving (still waiting on them in the mail).

Anyways I wanted to see if the bike would still shift through it's gears, so I put it up on a block and put the kickstand UP because I've heard of the sensor running down there. But when you put the bike in gear and let the clutch out it just dies.

I've never worked on bikes before, just rode them so I don't know where to start with this one.

Could it have anything to do with the speedometer being unplugged or the rest of the electrical on the front end being unplugged or does this sound mechanical?

Thanks for the help!

Old 06-25-2012, 10:10 AM
Redcoat, & Maxwell's Silver Hammer, MVN and curmudgeon
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

I'd say more likely clutch related - sometimes when a bike's been standing for a while the clutch will "bind" a bit - it's probably worse because you have it on stands.
I'd also check the sensor switch on the side stand to make sure it wasn't damaged in the accident.
When you have the new forks in and she's mobile, I'd give the bike a "rolling start" when in gear and see if the clutch disengages properly with use.

Old 06-25-2012, 10:25 AM

Sounds like something electrical to me - specifically in the side stand safety switch.
Just because the kickstand is up, does not mean that the safety switch itself is working properly.

Old 06-25-2012, 11:02 AM
February 2012 ROTM
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts