CBR 600F 1987 - 1990 CBR 600F Forum

winter cbr project!

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2012, 11:35 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default winter cbr project!

hello all!
im beginning my winter cbr project!
im going to be tucking all the wires and wrapping them in carbon fiber colored techflex (expansion wire covering) and paint everything, i also want to take care of some maintenance.

i need a new sprocket and chain set
i found one on ebay i like but i want opinions on it
click me

it does look a little cheap, but im new to bikes, so i dont know where to go. im not looking to stunt, but i would like to pick up a little acceleration if i can; while im in there replacing things.
if i should stay away from this brand, who should i look to get a set from?
i need front and rear sprockets and the chain.

i also need to do the cam chain tensioner. i have the all to famous buzz at startup.
some people recommend the stock oem auto tensioner, while some recommend the manual adjust tensioner. which should i get?

i want a jet kit because it has an aftermarket exhaust. who makes a good kit i can buy to start trying to tune it? i have my car self tuned on standalone fuel injection, so i can probably get a grasp on tuning with the carbs to get it close.

im probably going to do a brake flush and pads too. oem pads and dot4 brake fluid right?

ive seen people relocate the oil cooler up front. how do you do that since the lines appear to be crimped on? is there an adapter i can use, and then just use hose and hose clamps? im somewhat nervous about that

last but not least, i need to do fork seals.
i have a decent amount of mechanical knowledge (lots with cars) but im not sure if i should drop off the forks somewhere for replacement, or if i should try them myself if they arent hard. i dont know what all it entails.

thanks for any help!

heres a pic of the bike today after some disassembly

my little storage unit shop!

Old 02-12-2012, 09:53 PM