CBR 600F 1987 - 1990 CBR 600F Forum

How-to: Install a Factory Pro shift kit

  #11  
Old 02-26-2013, 03:18 PM
Dave_Wales's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 111
Default

sod it then, i will leave well alone, there's an old saying " if it ant broke, don't fix it" lol
 
  #12  
Old 03-02-2013, 08:25 PM
June 2013 ROTM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 1,172
Default

Word to the wise... don't forget to tighten up your clutch lever!!!

Riding around today in traffic I noticed my bike was juttering at low speed. When the brake wasn't applied, the bike wanted to move forward. Took me forever to realize the clutch lever wasn't tight. I guess the rattling of the bike slowly loosened the cable out more.

Now I have to get used to the new friction point
 
  #13  
Old 07-12-2013, 09:52 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Northern California
Posts: 452
  #14  
Old 12-29-2014, 02:05 PM
June 2013 ROTM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 1,172
Default

So I installed the shift kit in the 'new' bike. Went a WHOLE lot smoother this time around. In and out in less than 2 hours. The guide is pretty spot on, if I do say so myself

One thing I neglected to add to the original post was the size of the large stake nut. 27mm, which is bigger than most socket sets supply.

Bike is winterized, so I won't have a change to test it until spring, but it shifted through the gears no problem on the paddock.

Can't wait.
 
  #15  
Old 12-30-2014, 01:23 PM
dennisgb's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 844
Default

Originally Posted by CorruptFile View Post
So I installed the shift kit in the 'new' bike. Went a WHOLE lot smoother this time around. In and out in less than 2 hours. The guide is pretty spot on, if I do say so myself

One thing I neglected to add to the original post was the size of the large stake nut. 27mm, which is bigger than most socket sets supply.

Bike is winterized, so I won't have a change to test it until spring, but it shifted through the gears no problem on the paddock.

Can't wait.

Cool! Yeah those big nuts are a pain in the ****.


Working on a Yamaha Raptor and needed 30mm and 36mm. Found the 30mm pretty easy. The big one I had to pay through the nose for an axle impact socket. I sort of hate those expensive "one time" use tools.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
backdoc
CBR 954RR
4
02-16-2011 08:53 AM
REDrum
General Tech
9
08-20-2009 12:40 AM
bootleg___
F4i - Main Forum
2
11-13-2007 05:14 PM
bwp777
CBR 954RR
0
08-30-2005 09:56 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: How-to: Install a Factory Pro shift kit


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.