CBR 1000F "Hurricane" 1987-1996 CBR 1000F

Not havin much luck .... fork seals now!

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-2011, 06:27 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Not havin much luck .... fork seals now!

I thought that I'd got a busted brake hose yesterday, as the l/h side hose was covered in some sort of fluid .... so priced a set of replacement hoses up at the local Honda dealer....

On closer inspection, it looks like the l/h fork seal is spewing oil out and draining down the fork leg and on to the brake hose!

I've had a look around the forum at the "How To's" but can't seem to find one specifically for the 1kf .... have I not looked hard enough?

I've never done a fork seal replacement before ..... any advise please???

PS ..... they were "supposedly" replaced just before I bought it about 18 months ago .... Do I assume that the previous owner used cheapo seals?

Old 04-28-2011, 07:27 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

That's a bummer Shakey. Maybe they just did a crap job as well as cheap fork seals.

I cheated and got my local mechanic to do mine so I'm no real help to you mate. As always though, I'm here for moral support and to pour the beers.

I'll have a quick look because I'm sure I've seen something about it here.

Edit:

You've probably seen this one but, just in case; https://cbrforum.com/forum/cbr-1000f...al-job-122850/

Last edited by davethepom; 04-28-2011 at 07:31 PM.
Old 04-28-2011, 08:15 PM
Administrator, MVN / ROTM NOV 2012
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

me too om a lazy ******* like Dave.. But hey Hawkwind has plenty of experience
with it ....... he's done it a few times .....to say the least ....pm him, but suffice as to
say if the fork tubes are anyway "rough" after new seals .......the new seals will
weep fairly soon ......... that was the deal with his....new ones blew out fast

So basically those tubes need to be spotless and polished up good to maintain
seal integrity after the new seals goes on.

Old 04-28-2011, 08:23 PM