600 Modifications This section is specifically for questions and advice pertaining to mods of the current 600 models.

Fried ECM

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-2008, 02:10 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fried ECM

Hey everyone i am new to this whole thing but i need some help or ideas. i just recently had my bike apart and had a bunch of stuff chromed and i had also put new brisk racing plugs in and i had also bought a smog block off kit for my bike i remover the smog stuff and put the block off plates on and for the empty plug that was left after i removed it i put a jumper in it, cuz i was told if i didnt there could be a light that comes up on the dash well i did that and i also removed the kickstand switch too well when i put my bike all back together i left my power comander hooked up like normal and everything else i done to it the smog block off plates and kickstand switch well when i got the bike all back together and tank back on i tried to start my bike it wouldnt start and i noticed i forgot to plug the bank angle sensor back in so i did then i started it and the bike ran and idled just fine for a few min got to bout 107 degrees and i came out and just gave it a lil throttle and when it reved back down it died, well after that i tried to start it and start it and start it and also tried to give it gas at the same time dumb on my part i know cuz its fuel injected but it didnt work and while i was trying i seen a couple lights flash the only one i remember was a reset light i didnt think nothin of it and kept goin next thing i know i heard a pop and seen some smoke commin out of my ECM so i shut it off and when i would turn the key back on it would start smoking again, so i have no clue what is wrong i double checked to make sure i had all the plugs pluged in and no wires or plugs loose and as far as i know nothing is grounding out and i dont know if maybe because i didnt leave my power comander unhooked first or if it is the jumper in the plug that