Street Fighters For the unconventional CBR builder.

Universal Temp gauges

  #1  
Old 06-22-2012, 10:25 AM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 842
Default Universal Temp gauges

Hey yall, just curious to know if anyone has run a universal temp gauge? I'm just looking to replace my operating temp gauge that has been off the bike for a year now. If i would have had one installed i wouldnt have blown my motor that fateful day. Ive seen several at like auto parts stores but again i was just wondering what everyone on the forum has used
 
  #2  
Old 06-22-2012, 03:39 PM
MadHattr059's Avatar
Retired Super Moderator - At large E=MC2
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Tulsa,OK
Posts: 2,299
Default

I haven't tried any automotive temp guages, personally. I did try an analog voltage
meter installed in the side-panel on my F3's fairing. I had to abandon it, it was too
sensitive to vibration from the bike. Made it impossible to get a decent read on the
needle. I don't know if a temp guage would be more resistant, or not.

If you go with a digital read, you should be fine though. You can install the sensor in
one of the water hoses, by adding a piece of hot-water pipe in line. Then tap and
mount it, into the pipe section.

Hope this gives you some insight, maybe somebody else can give you some better
personal experience on the idea.

Ern
 
  #3  
Old 06-22-2012, 11:02 PM
colorado_steve's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Durango, CO
Posts: 237
Default

check out this thread from spiceymeowmix, it has the answers your looking for!

https://cbrforum.com/forum/cbr-600f3...inline-121667/
 
  #4  
Old 06-23-2012, 06:24 AM
MadHattr059's Avatar
Retired Super Moderator - At large E=MC2
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Tulsa,OK
Posts: 2,299
Default

That's the thread I was thinking of for installing the sensor.

Thanks, Ern
 
  #5  
Old 06-25-2012, 11:51 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 842
Default

I just did that, and made the mistake of using pcv which failed on the highway and then switched to a copper weld. Everything seems to be working except for the temp sensor itself...????? Wtf?!
 
  #6  
Old 06-26-2012, 08:59 PM
colorado_steve's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Durango, CO
Posts: 237
Default

Originally Posted by JankCibberf2 View Post
I'm just looking to replace my operating temp gauge that has been off the bike for a year now.
do you mean physically not on the bike or not reading correctly?
 
  #7  
Old 06-26-2012, 10:55 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 842
Default

Physically off le bike
 
  #8  
Old 06-26-2012, 11:13 PM
colorado_steve's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Durango, CO
Posts: 237
Default

i would triple check all your wiring to and from the sensor. if all checks out okay start looking for a reason why the sensor is reading off.. maybe a stuck thermostat. what does the gauge read while you are riding?
 
  #9  
Old 06-28-2012, 01:03 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 842
Default

Nope got it all fixed up, everything works perfectly
 
  #10  
Old 06-29-2012, 08:25 PM
colorado_steve's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Durango, CO
Posts: 237
Default

Originally Posted by JankCibberf2 View Post
Nope got it all fixed up, everything works perfectly
This is not an acceptable response.


no just kidding, you cant leave us hanging though! what did it take to fix it?

make sure to include the embarrassing details (if any)... cause you know we have all made them ourselves
 

Last edited by colorado_steve; 06-29-2012 at 10:37 PM.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Universal Temp gauges


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.