Road Trips Let us know where you've been on your CBR, the best places to visit on a bike, etc.

What are the basic tips for medium (800 Mile ish) trips?

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2010, 01:03 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What are the basic tips for medium (800 Mile ish) trips?

Hi guys and girls, 1stly im new to this site so il very quickly introduce myself so you still read my points below . im male, 21 from essex in the UK, iv been riding my cbr 5 months now and riding a 125 for 11 months before that, i own a 600f3 1998 with 11k miles on the clock, which i am soon to put a top box on (... its my only transportation, gimme a break) and i should point out im no mechanic, infact the term tyre kicker comes 2 mind. intro over

---------------------

my bike holiday plan.

In summer i plan to make a 140 mile trip to portsmouth, get the ferry to santander (not the bank, im talking N.W spain), then ride 550 miles (the coastal route) to pontvedra -->

http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=d&so...UTF8&z=8&via=1

then holiday for 2 weeks and back again. during the 2 weeks doing plenty more riding like myb down to porto etc etc.

btw i will be carrying a passanger the whole way.

---------------------------------------

my questions

1. what should i do to my bike before i set off? (what checks/mods that arent done weekly ayway?)

2. what should i take with me for the ride? (extra fuel capacity/jerry can? every tool under the sun? food, drink, any spares of anything?)

and 3. will a cbr 600f3 beable to go 120mph for 6 hours straight? only joking... 130

Hope you dont ignore the **** outa me

WhiteRyder

Old 01-22-2010, 12:26 AM
Default A couple of questions

Need to know a bit more about the trip...

Are you planning to stay in hotels every night or rough it by camping?

Will you be in remote areas where there is no mobile phone service or where you might otherwise be stuck for a long time waiting for someone to come by and help?