Road Racing Tell your stories here.

Leaning and Countersteer

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2006, 06:31 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Leaning and Countersteer

What's going on everyone. I've been riding for about 3 yrs. now and I was wondering.....what is and why do you countersteer in a lean? I take corners pretty hard but get a little nervous when I try to countersteer.

Old 09-23-2006, 12:04 AM
Default RE: Leaning and Countersteer

Counter steering is the only way to get your bike to turn with any speed. Even a bicycle does it if you are pedaling very fast. Turn right, bike leans and therefore arcs left. Basically, the front tire is trying to drive out from under you and in turn leans the bike in the desired direction. If you are taking a corner........you've already counter steered to get that far. Counter steer more, and you will turn sharper. Amazingly enough though......if you look at pics of a rider taking a corner hard, the wheel is actually turned the direction of the corner although you wouldnt think so. It a simple thing like physics that make riding so entertaining. Good luck.

Old 09-23-2006, 12:38 AM

COUNTERSTEERING: Countersteering is the process of pushing the handlebars in the opposite direction you wish to turn. Whether you know it or not, you have been countersteering if you ride a bicycle or a motorcycle.

To practice countersteering, go to an open lot or a deserted road. Accelerate to 30 mph or so, and remove your left hand from the bars. Now, gently push your right hand forward. The bike will automatically “fall†to the right. PUSH RIGHT - GO RIGHT. PUSH LEFT - GO LEFT.