Riding Gear Questions and reviews about jackets, helmets, gloves, etc.

Default Bionic 2 Protector Jacket + Leather Jacket ???

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2011, 08:36 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Default Bionic 2 Protector Jacket + Leather Jacket ???

Hello all,

Pretty new to riding as I'm just starting to learn.

Once I start riding more often I'd definitely like to have some better protection.

I'm currently looking at a Bionic 2 Protector jacket and a leather perforated jacket to go over.

I would definitely prefer a perforated leather jacket with the chest,back, shoulders etc built in but no such luck finding one.

Is what I'm going for a good alternative or does there exist a perforated jacket with all the protection.

Old 06-20-2011, 09:29 AM

That is definitely a very safe route to go, but might be a bit expensive and bulky. There are jackets out there that offer shoulder, elbow, chest and back protection. Actually, nearly all of the current Alpinestars jackets have protectors in all of those locations with the option to upgrade the chest and back pads to CE certified protectors. The Alpinestars GP-R, Indy, and SP-1 jackets are fully perforated with the previously mentioned padding.

GP-R- GP-R Perforated Leather Jacket - Alpinestars Official Store
Indy- Indy Leather Jacket - Alpinestars Official Store
SP-1- SP-1 Jacket - Alpinestars Official Store

Looks like the Teknic Violator also has the option to upgrade to CE chest and back protectors as well (comes with CE shoulder and elbow and is fully perforated)- Teknic 2011 - Violator Jacket

I'm sure other brands like Dainese offer similar products, but I'm not sure of exact models. Let us know what you end up getting .

Old 06-20-2011, 09:50 AM

Wow thanks a lot. I was definitely worried about it being bulky. I'll look into these jackets thanks!

Old 06-20-2011, 11:26 AM
MZ5