Off Topic A place for you CBR junkies to boldly go off topic. Almost anything goes.

What Bike Should I Buy...

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2010, 10:29 AM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default What Bike Should I Buy...

When I get back to the US? I've decided I'm going to forego buying a liter bike when I get back. I may have ridden this R1 for a season, but it was a stupid economical decision rather than one that would harbor proper growth as a rider.

Today, for the first time, I braked into a corner. I mean, I was carrying speed through the corners, but I was setting up speed with engine braking opposed to aggressive braking and seeing the large difference in my bike's characteristics... well, it actually pisses me off that I spent so much time doing it all wrong and feel even more determined than before to be "faster".

So what do I want in a bike? Well, I'm not looking for a complete beginner's bike (ninja 250), but I want a bike that will teach me how to be a good track rider. If that means a peaky powerband and hard as nails suspension that's a huge compromise for street riding, so be it. I plan on being a follow the speed limit and be a nice guy rider when I get back to the streets of New Jersey anyways. Any track experience stories would help.

Any year, any brand, any bike suggestions welcome. I was thinking I'd like to pick up an RS250 if there are any around me. Only have two seasons of experience under my belt so keep that under consideration.

Old 07-24-2010, 12:17 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Its got a gixxer tail which made it lose 100 hp and weight 375lbs less also those lightweight wheels! you should be able to manage that. Go big or go home!

Old 07-24-2010, 10:20 PM

Well, it's a little less about management and more about growth. Despite all the rampant hate there is in general for gixxers, I'm also considering the gixxer 750.

Old 07-24-2010, 10:38 PM