Off Topic A place for you CBR junkies to boldly go off topic. Almost anything goes.

Is riding an art to you?

Old 05-04-2010, 07:07 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Is riding an art to you?

What do you think guys?

I'd gotten an assignment in my English class to write an essay about (and yes it is vague) "What is Art to you? What do you concider Art to be?"

Writing is hard for me, and I'm not a very artistic person. Writing in English is even harder, since it's my second language. And so we are free to pick pretty much any kind of visual things\objects to write about. I immediately thought about bikes (looking at my jacket and helmet sitting in front of me during the class ). Maybe someone can throw some inspiring things in here!

Art of technologies? Art of techiques that are applied on tracks? Mix of the two?

Old 05-04-2010, 07:38 PM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Art is the results of the artist trying to convey something to the viewer. Anything can be art.

Go into Sights & Sounds and go thru all the posts from Juliet. Video editing and slapping in some music isn't what makes her riding art. She's expressing herself. The road is her canvas, the bike is her paintbrush. The videos and pictures she brings back are the works of art she created with them.

Watch any of the racing videos. Look at how the riders move, how they flow through the corners. How perfectly they lean their bikes down to make a turn, making everything look effortless. Their movements often done with more precision than any dance.

Basically look at people riding for whatever reason they ride. The pics and the vids are them expressing themselves, their talent. And then just describe what you see, what you feel and what they're trying to tell you

Old 05-04-2010, 07:49 PM

Both for sure. I enjoy working on my old girl close to as much as riding. Riding is still visibly in the lead. Maybe if I had more money for parts,......