Off Topic A place for you CBR junkies to boldly go off topic. Almost anything goes.

First ride after that crash

Search this Thread

Old 09-26-2008, 01:18 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First ride after that crash

I'm sure many of you have been there, that weird feeling after being off your bike after wrecking. My crash didn't put me in the hospital or anything but it was definitely a violent experience and I still have just a tiny bit of rash just healing up, at this rate my arm will be 100% healed at nearly the same exact time as my bike lol. It's been about...4 days shy of a month since I went down and just today got the bike to riding spec. I still need to put the side fairings, upper, headlight, cluster, and a few other small items on but I took it for a short ride down the road.

Took me a bit to get over the awkward feeling of being back on it, also knowing in the back of my mind that I'm not a professional bike builder and I did all the work myselfbut I took as many precautions as I could. I'll get some pics as soon as I'm finished but as it sits it's mechanically better than it was when I put 'er in the ditchline....save for maybe a chain. Anyonecatch my drift about the feeling upon saddling up for round 2?

Old 09-26-2008, 01:30 AM
Jan 2009 ROTM
Default RE: First ride after that crash

I know how ya felt, same thing after i put mine down. Grats for getting back on though, there are a few people i know who after a crash gave it up. After mine ( i was down for about 3 weeks), sitting at the end of the drive i actually felt almost a bit nervous. I rolled out though, gavea few taps of the brakes to make sure all was good, and couple of swerves in the road. All felt good so i just snapped up a wheelie for about a mile (live in pretty desolate area) put it down to a nice long endo, and after that never thought about it once.

Old 09-26-2008, 01:37 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post