Off Topic A place for you CBR junkies to boldly go off topic. Almost anything goes.

A Beginner who needs help...

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2009, 07:24 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A Beginner who needs help...

Hey everyone on the cbr forum...i just turned 23 and finally sold my sportster that i had that i first learned to ride on and want to move to a 03 or 04 600rr. I have been riding for almost 2 years and love the cbr family with a passion, i am just finally getting around to aquiring my 1st cbr...the only thing i am shaky with is cornering. I never cornered with a sportbike before and i know you have to really lean and you get pretty low to the ground. I am just so dam frightened of hittin gravel and gone down or just leanin too low. Cornering is really my only issue so can any of you experienced riders give me some advice on exactly how to master cornering?? Thanks to all those who lend some advice because i have never seen pavement before and never want to! So thanks again

Old 06-05-2009, 07:48 PM

You should always be looking past the corner and remember these bikes are made for that! If you use your skill and turn your head, you will flow through the turn....time is key!!!! Do not rush into getting low....but try it at lower speeds and eventually you will be MOTOGP....

Old 06-05-2009, 07:52 PM

Congrats on finally trading up! lol
Just ride like a normal bike at first. Make sure you look where your going, push steer.
There's a few good vids on getting your knee down etc on you tube. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QCg3B...e=channel_page
But after hauling that huge heavy sportster around corners, your new cbr will be a synch. I think you will actually be shocked how easy they handle.

Old 06-05-2009, 09:09 PM

Find a trackday nearby, then sign up! You'll learn a ton about cornering and how the CBR handles.

Old 06-05-2009, 11:12 PM
Old 06-06-2009, 12:05 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post