New Member Area New to CBRForum? Stop in and introduce yourself.

Service help??! Please!

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2017, 05:03 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Service help??! Please!

Hi all.. Im glad I found you! I have a 2003, 52 plate f4i that i love and have had for a couple of years now. It is in desperate need of a service but unfortunately i have no faith in the local garage to carry this out for me as I've been ripped off there with my car. So its down to me. I am no mechanic. I have no past mechanical experience, and little knowledge of most parts of an engine. But I am eager to learn, and eager to keep the money out of under qualified mechanics pockets! Basicaly, I need to find out what tools I'll need for the job, and if there is anywhere I can buy a kind of 'service pack,' with all of the components i'll need to replace in it? Also, and this might sound really stupid, but what does anyone do with the old oil once its been replaced?

Huge thanks in advance if anyone can help at all, Sam

Old 07-12-2017, 07:08 PM
Super Moderator
Received 310 Likes on 254 Posts

Hey there,
1st off, welcome. 2nd, not to upset any of the mechs on the forum, but an auto mechanic isn't necessarily qualified to work on a motorcycle, and vice versa, so if at all possible if you need to take a bike to a mechanic, always go with bike mech if you have the opportunity, IMO.
3rd, When you say it is need of service, can you elaborate? Depending what is needed will relegate the expertise and tools needed.

Old 07-12-2017, 08:30 PM
Administrator and MVN, March 2012/Oct 2013 ROTM
Received 117 Likes on 107 Posts

Originally Posted by hamlin6
an auto mechanic isn't necessarily qualified to work on a motorcycle, and vice versa
Really? Well then, I hope you don't need our help on anything....
Come on Ham, that's not a fair statement.

Old 07-12-2017, 09:01 PM
Super Moderator
Received 310 Likes on 254 Posts

I think you are taking it out of context my friend.