New Member Area New to CBRForum? Stop in and introduce yourself.

New member and rider from MI (living in ky)

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2010, 06:42 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New member and rider from MI (living in ky)

Hey Everyone! I'm a new member and I just bought my first bike, a new 2008 cbr1000rr. I'm only 21 and this is my first street bike (yes, I know about 90% of you just cringed after reading the first two lines).

I've been riding dirtbikes (honda's of course) for about 7 years now and I've been dragracing cars since I was 15 (usually my dad's 11sec corvette). The main reason I got the bike is for the track, and after riding multiple 600's and my friends 05cbr1000 I knew I wouldn't be happy with anything less than a literbike.

It's been very cold down here, so I've only gotten to put about 75miles on the bike and so far I'm very happy with my choice of the bigger bike. I originally wanted a used bike, but the deal I got on this bike was too good for me to pass up (I bought it from Southern Honda in TN, and I am happy with the way they treated me and the price I paid, $7400)

Right now the bike is completely stock, but I plan on doing some of the more common mods eventually: frame/swingarm sliders, undertail kit, possibly a power commander, etc. (I do plan on keeping the factory exhaust though).

I don't have any riding gear yet, and I'm pretty broke at the moment so I've just been using my old motocross helmet. I have been considering buying this helmet though:
http://www.helmetcity.com/page/HC/PR...sp-matte-black
does anyone know if this is a decent helmet? Also, I tried on a similar one at the dealer and the medium felt a little too tight, but I'm worried the large was a little too big. Will the helmet padding break in at all, or should I buy the large?