New Member Area New to CBRForum? Stop in and introduce yourself.

new member from arkansas

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2009, 09:55 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default new member from arkansas

Hey! I am just starting out and want to learn how to ride. I've looked at a lot of bikes and really like the CBR, but I don't know anyone with one! So I am on this forum to learn more and meet people.

Shonna

Old 11-10-2009, 11:29 PM
Admin Emeritus & MVN
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Welcome to the board! Do you have a bike yet?

Old 11-11-2009, 06:26 AM
Banned

Welcome to CBRF Shonna!! You can't go wrong with a Honda and all of the CBRs are great bikes. Since you have no experience, I would strongly recommend a smaller displacement bike to start out on. You have plenty of time to work your way up to bigger bikes and will get infinitely more enjoyment out of them when are competent enough to take full advantage of what they have to offer without scaring yourself silly.

Pity Honda doesn't market the CBR250 here in the states, because that would be the perfect starter bike for you. If you want to stick with a Honda sport bike, I would look for an older 600, an F2 or F3 in good condition as your first bike. They don't have as much horsepower as a new 600RR and the throttle response isn't quite as quick, giving you a little more margin for error, but still have plenty of get up and go.

Another thing to look into is taking some sort of motorcycle safety course and getting some decent riding gear. Good luck and let us know what you choose!

Old 11-11-2009, 08:29 AM

Welcome Shonna!

I recommend taking your time and finding your comfort level. Take a MSF course you'll learn all the basics and safety maneuvers. Don't let anyone rush you into doing anything you don't want to do. This is a venture that YOU need to dictate the pace.
Research and be careful and you should be just fine!

Good luck! and happy riding!

Old 11-11-2009, 10:46 AM