How To's Show us what ya did and how ya did it!

Cam Chain Tensioner Mods

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2010, 07:54 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cam Chain Tensioner Mods

While I am a noob to this site, I am by no means a CBR1000F virgin. Have owned, ridden and wrenched exclusively on my '91 since mi. 5. Now have over 156K mi. There is nothing on this bike that I have not had apart. I obviously love this machine but there is one thing that has been a pain in the ****-timing chain tensioner noise! Have tried to modify using extra springs to suppliment the OEM tensioner spring, mechanically via a threaded rod that was adjustable (carefully), but none were very permanant. I have come to the conclusion that the problem lies in the fact that the oil in the tensioner is never actually "changed" and the hydraulic portion of the tensioner fails. Any thoughts on this, I'm tired of buyin $155 tensioners. Thanks guys.

Old 03-03-2010, 10:11 PM
Redcoat, & Maxwell's Silver Hammer, MVN and curmudgeon
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Could it be that it's the primary chain that's making the noise? I too have had 4 timimg chains in 5 years, and have fitted the new type tensioner with the longer spring.It's still noisy...............

156K miles - hoooo boy - surely time for a primary if you haven't done one already ?

Old 03-04-2010, 09:36 AM

Hey Shadow, I'm not quite sure what you mean by "primary" chain, but I did replace all 3 chains at 84k during a complete engine o-haul. The noise is definately coming from the tensioner as any time I try something different with it the noise goes away for a while. Can verify this by mounting tensioner in a vice and while stroking it (insert joke here)can feel a "dead spot". Have drained the oil,flushed with brake parts cleaner refilled with fresh oil and it comes back to life temporarilly. Haven't bought a new tensioner in some time-when did the updated unit come out and is it any better?

Old 03-04-2010, 09:50 AM