General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How do you guys get through gates?

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2008, 11:17 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How do you guys get through gates?

Ok so I live in a gated community and I just got my bike. Now I have a problem. The only way I can get in is through the main entrance, where they verify that I'm a resident, and waste my time. There are 5 other entrances and 1 entrance right outside my house that would save me loads of time if I could go through there, but I need to use my GIANT gate opener. I went to home depot and bought a mini key chain gate opener transmitter and the guy there said that it would work with the gate I'm trying to open. So I go home and try to program it and it doesn't work. Maybe I'm doing something wrong, but I'm trying to program it like the homelink system on cars, but it just isn't working. Maybe because it's only a transmitter. But unless I want to carry my original giant gate opener on my bike while riding, I have no other way to open my gates. Help please. What do you guys do? and Which transmitters work? Thanks

Old 11-20-2008, 12:51 AM
Official CBRF Welcome Crew Undercover Agent
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: How do you guys get through gates?

but I need to use my GIANT gate opener.
How big is it? Like shoebox size?
I have a old Sears electric garage door (1979) andthe opener is like 2"X4"X3/4". Drop it in my coat pocket & forget about it.You couldhardwire a programmable remote toyour bike, but you have to find one that works first. Your gated complex could possibly use special frequencies/combinations that may not work with universal remotes.

Or you could build a ramp just outside the wall and jump over it like McQueen...

Old 11-20-2008, 02:32 AM