General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help!! Crankshaft replacement!

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2011, 03:48 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Help!! Crankshaft replacement!

Hi all. I have an 04 1000. I got knocked off by some bitch turning whilst on the phone, after 5 days of ownership all the damage is down the left side/clutch lever side. It's ripped the cover off and apparently bent the crankshaft because there is a slight graze on the end of the shaft. Firstly does it automatically mean the shafts bent cos it hit the ground and secondly can I replace just the crankshaft or would it be better to replace the engine? Any help would be much appreciated as Im only learning the stuff as I go along. Thanks

Old 03-31-2011, 11:46 AM

Hi. I may be wrong and other members will soon tell me, but I shoudn't have thought that you have a bent crankshaft. If you can borrow an engineers dial gauge, you can, with the help of a mate, hold the gauge against the edge of the crank if there is room and check the run-out. To get the crank to turn, you need the bike in gear with the back wheel off the ground (use a paddock stand if your bike doesn't have a centre stand) and by turning the back wheel over you should see the crank revolve. You might want to remove the spark plugs to overcome engine compression. Watch the gauge and see if the needle on the dial moves. If it does but is only very slight, I wouldn't think the crank is bent. Get help from a knowledgeable friend if you are unsure how to do any of this. Good luck!

Old 03-31-2011, 02:53 PM

Post up a picture. Did it rip the rotor off?

If there is any play in the crankshaft, then it neeeds attention...

Old 04-04-2011, 08:09 AM
Registered Users

Hi all, i had to slightly change my login name as it wouldnt recognise my old one for some reason. Here are a couple of photos, any help would be greatly appreciated....... thanks