General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Fork Wreck - Rebuild

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2013, 09:36 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cool Fork Wreck - Rebuild

INTRO.
Okay so I can not find any good Rebuild threads online for what I am about to undertake. First the disclaimer. I am NOT a professional motorcycle tech, nor do I have official training. That being said I did go to college for Architecture and Engineering, I have also been wrenching since I was old enough to climb up over the bumper and see what's under the hood. I have found there are certain Principles I learned that hold true for everything. Lefty loosy/righty tighty, internal combustion is all the same breed, and generally speaking if I can get it apart I can probably put it back together, AND YOUR MANUFACTURER WILL LIE THROUGH THERE TEETH TO KEEP YOU FROM SAVING MONEY BY AVOIDING THEM.

THE WRECK
I installed a set of RaceTech Gold Valve 2 weeks ago. The increase in performance was fantastic, for 2 days. on the second day of Testing I decided to visit some family that live out a dirt road. Long story short, loose gravel, sharp corner, F4I, tree, 3.5 hour concussion induced waking black-out. The event left me with 2 broken neck vertebrae and 4 in my back, 5 busted ribs, one broken shoulder blade, and a number of serious bruises including my lungs and a helmet nearly broke in half. For The bike, Crushed front rim, bent left and a right fork broken off at the tree. The fairings, headlight, cluster, front brackets, and radiator are a total loss.

PARTS
So after some research I discovered that I can get new fork tubes through a couple of sources for less than factory pricing.@
Frank's Maintenance and Engineering, Inc.
Race Tech Suspension