General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

compression results

Search this Thread

Old 06-06-2012, 02:21 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default compression results

hi everyone. i have a 2000cbr 600 f4. its been running great the past few weeks. till one day on my way to work it started to drop some cylinders, then evenutually it died. I had it sit for a few hours at work and it started up just fine and i took my chances and rode it home. but after 15 mins it started to drop some cylinders again and I had to walk the bike home. I didnt get the time to work on it till a few weeks later.I had the idea i had either a fuel issue or maybe the coil packs. ( im no master mechanic )

i cleaned the carbs, changed the plugs, i didnt know how to test the strenght of the coil packs, but i did check for spark... so after all that i thought maybe the bike would run.

i could not get it to run. only cylinder 1 would fire.
i went ahead and did a compression test. i think the spec is 178psi (correct me if im wrong) and i got:
cylinder 1- 140
cylinder 2- 169
cylinder 3- 140
cylinder 4- 169

since my bike is already apart, should i look into this?
i figured since no. 1 only has 140 psi, and its the only one running that maybe the rest should fire. also, does anyone else think its so odd that the pressures are so consistent? ( again, im no master mechanic
so any help or advice would be great )

Old 06-06-2012, 09:22 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

From the description of it dying, I'd say look into your fuel system. When your bike runs out of gas, the cylinders will drop off individually as each carb's float bowl runs out. For some reason, it sounds like you have fuel starvation, such as a plugged filter, petcock screen plugged, fuel pump faulty, plugged tank vent line, fuel line delaminated internally...ect