General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Cbr600rr

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-2009, 08:13 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cbr600rr

Greetings Guys,

I am a total newb and is currently in a bad position. I dropped my bike and it wouldnt start afterward. I brought it to the dealer and they pulled it into a diagnostic system which tells them BAS and CKP sensors are shot. Could this happened from just dropping a bike? Or is this a more serious problem?

Bike is completely stock and ran fine beforehand.

Last edited by l0stnyc; 07-04-2009 at 08:43 AM.
Old 07-04-2009, 09:08 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

how bad was the drop

Old 07-04-2009, 09:26 AM

Dropped while pushing it up the driveway. On the right side. Hard enough to put a few good scratched on the fairings and crank case cover.

Old 07-04-2009, 09:45 AM

anything is possible, but its uncommon for such a light fall to cause those issues. But again,anything can happen.

Have you disconnected your battery and let if off for a minute or two? Sometimes, if the bas sensor trips from the bike being tipped over, unhooking the battery will reset it if it doesnt reset on its own. Ive never heard of a bas sensor going bad from a light fall. It usually takes a fairly significant impact to ruin them.

As for the crank position sensor, that really shouldn't have been affected either. If memory serves me right, the bas sensor shuts power to the cps, and the fuel pump. So, in my mind, if the bas didnt reset or is bad, it will show no power to the fuel pump or the cps.

Does the fuel pump cycle when you turn on your key? If it does, your bas is not faulty. If it doesnt, then the bas is not working for what ever reason.

Old 07-04-2009, 10:06 AM