General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

98 CBR F3 smoking wires

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2007, 09:49 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 98 CBR F3 smoking wires

Just want to put this down while fresh in my mind. Rode from portland to seattle, no problems until getting to my house. I started smelling something burning, and something like rotten eggs, so I lifted the seat and there was smoke coming from around the battery around a group of wires. Also, there was a loud high-pitched electrical whine, and the bike wouldn't start, just made a clicking sound. So, I trickle charged the battery to see if it would hold a charge and start, and the next day all I got was barely lit dash lights and a flickering headlamp. Going to dig into it tomorrow, but wondered if there was anything I should look for, as this is my first time working on a bike.

Thanks.

Old 09-26-2007, 08:02 AM
Default RE: 98 CBR F3 smoking wires

Look for any bare wires in that area and cut the bare section out solder and heat shrink tubethat piece back in. This time give yourself extra length to reroute them so they aren't rubbing on anything.
If the wires look good than look for any cracks in the battery and replace it if you see any. Be careful of any fluid you see laying around.

Old 09-26-2007, 05:01 PM

i havent found any bare wires, but i did find a merlin box, which is a security sensor, right? It says merlin model 2000, and was sitting directly on something that looks like a small radiator, on the right side of the bike, just back from the battery. The backside of this thing is melted, so I figure that is what I smelt burning. Guess I can just do away with this, but now I need to figure out how to rewire the bike, and currently am recharging the battery, this time off the bike.

Old 09-26-2007, 05:57 PM