General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

93 1000F overheating

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2022, 07:30 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 93 1000F overheating

Hey guys so i was riding for abit yesterday despite another issue i had with the alternator (i've been jump starting to bike haha) i noticed when idling the bike to warm up i see some sort of light grey smoke i believe coming from the engine and it tends to overheat alot (i can feel the heat on my legs when im on it) im suspecting some sort of blown head gasket..Now i dont know any history from this bike as i bought it used and i'm the 3rd owner.But would something like BlueDevil gasket sealer work if it is a blown gasket? i have no experience on getting into the engine and i've watched a video of some guy doing it...looks like a pain in the *** haha
By the way the bike has 27,000 miles

Old 08-22-2022, 09:03 PM
Received 432 Likes on 391 Posts

Light grey is burning oil. Burning coolant from burnt headgasket is white.

No, sealants won't work. Headgasket is firm metal-on-metal interface. If it's blown, replace with new headgasket and make sure to torque in proper sequence.

Do compression-test to determine if you do have blown headgasket

Most importantly, blown headgasket is just symptoms of a problem, but not the problem itself. Such as lean mixtures from clogged carbs, too much ignition-advance, too low octane fuel, etc. Find out what caused blown headgasket and fix it. Otherwise you'll blow new headgasket just was easily as 1st time.

Old 08-23-2022, 11:13 AM
Received 24 Likes on 21 Posts

The 1000F runs hot anyway.

If it is burning oil, my first bet would be the rocker cover seals around the studs that hold it down. Nobody bothers to replace them and they weep a little oil.