General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

'88 Hurricane 600, No spark

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2011, 05:14 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default '88 Hurricane 600, No spark

Hi guys, I recently picked up a CBR Hurricane, 600, but it won't start.
My friend narrowed it down to spark. All 4 cylinders aren't getting spark.

What could be causing this?

Could it be the spark unit?
The "pulse generator"?
The coil set?

If it was the coil set, it wouldn't send spark to two of the cylinders since there are 2 coil packs right?

I'm a newbie. Any and all information is appreciated.

Battery was fully charged, gas was good. Not sure if that info helps at all, just thought i'd put that out there.

Old 06-18-2011, 05:33 PM

How do I check to see if the pulse generators are good?

Old 06-18-2011, 10:42 PM
Retired Super Moderator - At large E=MC2
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Electrical is a tough place to start if you aren't already a pretty fair mechanic. I'm betting that it would actually be cost effective to take it in to a dealer/repair shop for your problem. Hopefully you got the bike for a good price, since it's not running. Most shops will diagnose at about 60-75 bucks/hour and then roll that in to the repair cost if you have them do it. Sometimes the sheer frustration is worth letting a pro do it.

We've got a lot of 'hands-on' folks here, and by all means, learn your bike. If you seriously want to wrench, buy the manual/s, check the diagnostic flow charts, etc.
I wouldn't have it any other way, myself. However, judging from your posts, I would advise you to focus on learning to ride and gradually learn the maintenance/repair side of biking. Otherwise, you'll be adding frustration and negative feelings to your introduction to a great sport/lifestyle.

Ern

Old 06-19-2011, 05:08 AM