General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

05 cbr 125, letting the clutch out in neutral kills the bike

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2019, 02:52 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation 05 cbr 125, letting the clutch out in neutral kills the bike

So last week I brought a 05 cbr 125 r with about 20k on the clock please forgive me I'm new to geared setups (good old twist and go lol)
after servicing the brakes, charging the battery and putting some pressure into the tires moved on to finally getting her fired up
after figuring out the immobilizer I got her started fresh plug as well but there's a really weird problem
the bike is in neutral it's indicating neutral and I can move the bike without the clutch lever being pulled but if I try to start the bike the bike will rock forward as if it is in gear and is unable to start without the clutch lever being held in
if I release the clutch the revs drop and the bike even with giving it more revs it struggles and dies or starts to pull as if it was in first
I've tried this with the sidestand both up and down it seems like as soon as the clutch lever is let out the load of the clutch is too much for the bike

I have moved the bike forward and back and seem to be able to get up and down all the gears successfully but it seems that I can't get a true neutral

Any ideas ?

Old 01-22-2019, 10:23 AM
Received 30 Likes on 28 Posts

Do you have two issues to solve here ? I’m a bit confused. The first being finding neutral, and the second being the bike struggles to pull away. I understand your new to geared bikes and I’m not sure if you know this already.