Forum Help & Suggestion Center Need help with CBR Forum? Ask. Have a suggestion to better CBRF? Tell us here. DO NOT POST QUESTIONS ABOUT YOUR BIKE HERE.

Battery tender

Search this Thread

Old 11-12-2008, 04:18 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Battery tender

OK so this is my first time winterizing my 07RR. I changed the oil, cleaned the bike really good, put it on a rear stand, plugged the intake and exhaust. Did not do little minor things such as clean and lube the chain also spray wd-40 in all the little nuts and bolts are hear that is over excessive. My question is i took my battery out and put it on a tender i have had it on the battery tender for about 4 days straight have not taken it off. I read the manual and it says do not overcharge it. Is that overcharging it?? I have a battery tender plus and i have read it has a float/ storage system and it wont affect the battery. Am i doing the right thing?? My intentions is to keep it on the tender until im ready to ride around April/May. Has anyone just put it on the tender and left it without ever taking it off the tender till it was time to ride for a period of more than 5months??

Old 11-12-2008, 08:38 PM
Default RE: Battery tender

Most, if not all battery tenders are automatic and shut off. I hook mine up every other week during the winter, but I leave the battery in the bike. My tender came with leads that have eyelets, so they are permanently connected to my cable ends. I ran the plug-in down under the battery box so that I don't have to take the seat off in the winter.

Old 11-12-2008, 09:25 PM

thats what i usually do i keep the lead on the bike, but unforntunately my bike is stored in a shack not a garage and has no electric outlets thats why i have to bring it in the house.

Old 11-13-2008, 03:28 AM
Jan 2009 ROTM