F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Suspension Questions

Search this Thread

Old 06-16-2011, 11:26 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Suspension Questions

I am new to dealing with motorcycle suspensions so forgive me if my questions are dumb.
First off my suspension is feeling really sloppy. When I initially sit on the bike it sags pretty bad. Both the front and rear. When I bought the bike the previous owner and I are identical builds and weight. So the bike was setup well for me. I have changed no settings. The rear is set at 6 on the spring but I dont know about the dampening. The front I am unsure on as to how it is set up. The But as time goes on it seems like my suspension is getting weaker.

So should I just have the forks serviced along with the rear. Or should I look into some aftermarket suspension parts?

I do mostly street riding (pretty agressive street riding) and a little bit of track. (would do more track if it wasnt 300 miles away). Bike has just shy of 40k miles.

Any input would be great.
Thanks

Old 06-16-2011, 12:16 PM

I wouldn't suggest going with aftermarket parts, they can be quite pricey. I would recommend changing out the oil in the forks, and then try playing with the damper and preload to find a good feel for you. If your willing to drop a some more cash on it you can replace the fork internals, eg. valves and springs. That would be the cheaper alternative to aftermarket suspension parts.

Old 06-16-2011, 12:28 PM

Thanks for the advice. On the fork internals are you talking about replacing them with OEM parts? And are the forks something you can do yourself or should you have them done professionally?

Old 06-16-2011, 12:43 PM
Received 34 Likes on 32 Posts