F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Please help! Gauges out!

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2007, 10:04 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Please help! Gauges out!

somebody please help me!

2 days ago I had changed my oil...using mobil 1 oil and filter... and the day after i started riding for about 5 mins... and on the highway my speedometer, tachometer, and temperature reading went out... but my clock was still on...so it looked like my bike was off...but i was in the middle of riding it... today i replaced the fuse...and when i turned the key to on it turned on and burnt out immediately... i tried putting a 20amp fuse in...and it worked...but when i turned around...it was smoking like crazy!! dumb move...haha but its because i did something like that for a car before and it worked...does anyone know what this could possibly be and how i could fix it?? I dont know much about wiring or anything...so if i take this somewhere to get it looked at...where would i take it? and how much would it be?? thanks for any help!

Old 10-19-2007, 10:19 PM
Default RE: Please help! Gauges out!

Def sounds like a short somewhere or an exposed wire touching another wire. Try to follow the gauge wire to the ecu and see what you find.

When it comes to a shop fixing electrical problems it can be very pricey....even when its an easy fix....it is best to do it yourself (if you know what your doing and know you wont mess anything up further)

*Try to trouble shoot it in the manual if you know you didnt do something to cause the problem

Good Luck!

Old 10-19-2007, 10:31 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Follow the smoke!

Jiggle harnesses, find any rubbing points, any prior accidents on it that someone may have routed wires incorrectly?