F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Odometer tampering???

  #1  
Old 08-01-2011, 12:00 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 13
Default Odometer tampering???

On the F4i is it possible to unplug the odometer and maintain low mileage?

Not trying to be a crook, Im looking at buying a '02 with 2k miles.

Its possible its true mileage and it had just never been rode, but...


I know that it is all stock down to the factory exhuast, windscreen, signals, uncut fender. And if it looks showroom condition and runs as such...just wondering if its possible to cheat the odometer on the f4i?
 
  #2  
Old 08-01-2011, 12:05 PM
Kuroshio's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: West Philly, PA!
Posts: 4,476
Default

Bike won't start without an odometer or some wire hacking to simulate there being one. So simply plugging the gauges wouldn't work.

Its possible to have only 2k miles on it. But it'll have its own unique problems.
 
  #3  
Old 08-01-2011, 12:10 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 13
Default

Originally Posted by Kuroshio View Post
Bike won't start without an odometer or some wire hacking to simulate there being one. So simply plugging the gauges wouldn't work.

Its possible to have only 2k miles on it. But it'll have its own unique problems.

Thanks Kuro!


Unique problems such as any bike that sits? Bad gas, flat spots on tires, dry seals?
 
  #4  
Old 08-01-2011, 01:44 PM
Kuroshio's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: West Philly, PA!
Posts: 4,476
Default

Yup. And high chances that with 2k miles on the clock, the tires are from 2002.
 
  #5  
Old 08-01-2011, 02:53 PM
jeffjones's Avatar
Welcome Crew and May 2012 Ride of the Month
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Posts: 1,564
Default

I know my one buddy on his F4i would set back the km's at the end of every season.
He had a mechanic that would do it for $75,
Not saying thats what happened but it really isn't that hard but if you get caught your screwed, Just see if he has service records and check dates to mileage, if not you will never know.
 
  #6  
Old 08-01-2011, 03:37 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 53
Default

My speed sensor went out at the beginning of the summer of 2010 and that stopped the odometer from recording miles. I've been at 29,000 something for 2 summers now. So i suppose its possible but unlikely the speedometer failed at 2,000 miles. Ask if the speedometer is working
 
  #7  
Old 08-01-2011, 03:55 PM
Kuroshio's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: West Philly, PA!
Posts: 4,476
Default

Well my 06 did have only 2.5k miles on her and was flawless (except for a tiny scratch from the previous owner's wife's heels on the tail) when I got her last year. No odometer foul play involved.

The tires being manufactured in 06 and other things were the tells (original chain, fairing bolts never turned, ect)
 
  #8  
Old 08-01-2011, 06:48 PM
Kevwa451's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 252
Default

Maybe it's actually got 102,000 miles and they figured they'd try and be tricky.
 
  #9  
Old 08-01-2011, 07:40 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 13
Default

Thanks for the tips everyone. It should be easy to tell if its true with that info.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
ky99
General Tech
10
07-04-2011 04:21 PM
mbison83
F4i - Main Forum
20
01-12-2011 12:16 PM
Jester1
General Tech
2
12-28-2009 11:21 PM
Winchester
F4i - Main Forum
4
10-29-2006 01:44 AM
Weeble13
CBR 900RR
0
03-22-2006 08:03 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Odometer tampering???


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.