F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

need a new rear tire

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-2008, 03:35 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default need a new rear tire

i was thinking about pirelli diablo, but i'm kinda new to the whole sport bike thing and i don't really know the good brands. normally when i'm looking for tires, i'm thinking goodyear, bridgestone, etc.
what is recommended? i don't ride tracks, i just cruise around town and ride to work and such. i use my bike like an every day vehicle, except faster

Old 11-06-2008, 03:44 PM
Default RE: need a new rear tire

if you want some super sticky goodness, I'm highly enamored by Michelin Pilot Powers. But you'll eat through that rubber real fast doing street riding. There are, of course, the Pilot Power 2CT's (which I just installed on my F4i) which have a dual-compound setup, firmer along the center band so that you stand a better chance of not wearing out just the center of the tire before you have a chance to use the edges. But the 2CTs also carry a premium price.

For commuting, stick with something that will last you a bit longer than "sport" rubber.

Or if you just don't care and want super sticky goodness.... then like I said, check out the Pilot Powers. They are confidence inspiring to say the least.

Old 11-06-2008, 03:46 PM

oops... sorry, I should try to remain impartial. Pirelli Diablos, Bridgestone Battlax 014/016 (dunno the latest model number) are also comparable. Or Metzeler Sportech M1's. Or even continentals or Avons.

Interested to hear more about Dunlops new fancy tires... but they're like $450 for a set (!)

Old 11-06-2008, 03:48 PM