F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Lights Cutting out

  #1  
Old 08-20-2009, 10:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
Posts: 45
Default Lights Cutting out

Went on a ride this evening, on the way to the destination, when backing out of my garage the light went out, but then came back on a couple seconds later, so i thought nothing of it. On my way back however, I stopped at a light, and when I started going again I noticed my light was completely out for no reason. Both the high and the low beam was gone, and didnt return until i got back (luckily it was only a short distance and lit by street lights). I restarted my bike and the lights came back on, so I rode it around the neighborhood, and they cut off again.

Any of you guys have any idea what would be causing that? Fuses or possibly a worse electrical problem?
 
  #2  
Old 08-21-2009, 12:09 AM
Aken's Avatar
July 2008 ROTM
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 3,002
Default

Loose ground connection somewhere.
 
  #3  
Old 08-21-2009, 01:12 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
Posts: 45
Default

Where would I find some of the ground connections to check? And thanks a lot man
 
  #4  
Old 08-21-2009, 08:36 AM
R Dub's Avatar
October 2011 ROTM
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Burbs of Chicago
Posts: 1,340
Default

Yeah it has to be a loose connection some where. If it was a fuse it would either work all the time or not at all. What I would do is start with the plugs at the headlights. Make sure there is no corrosion and all the wires look good and are tight. Then work your way back to the sub harness. I would imagine you will find your problem somewhere in there.
 
  #5  
Old 08-21-2009, 09:48 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
Posts: 45
Default

How much of the bodywork will need to be taken off to get at the sub harness? Sorry, I don't know a whole lot about wiring
 
  #6  
Old 08-21-2009, 10:48 AM
R Dub's Avatar
October 2011 ROTM
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Burbs of Chicago
Posts: 1,340
Default

I would take off the front cowl and the left cowl. The sub harness will be on the left side of the bike by the air intake and the left cowl. By taking off the front cowl you can easily get too all the wires and inspect them closely.
 
  #7  
Old 08-21-2009, 03:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
Posts: 45
Default

Allright, ill give that a try tonight or tomorrow when i get some time.

thanks
 
  #8  
Old 08-22-2009, 11:21 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 34
Default

I had this exact same problem.
One of the wires (the ground?) runs through the starter switch. When you start the bike, the headlights turn off in order to make it easier on the battery. Once you release the switch the headlights are supposed to come back on. But the problem I had, along with many others is that the switch gets stuck in a little bit.
Next time your lights cut out, pull out on the starter button.
 
  #9  
Old 08-23-2009, 11:33 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
Posts: 45
Default

Oh wow that never occured to me, ill definitely give that a try before i rip half the fairings off on a wire hunt lol. right now the bike is apart (putting a new stock cct in and the stock suspension linkage) but when its back together ill give that a try.
 
  #10  
Old 08-23-2009, 03:31 PM
Aken's Avatar
July 2008 ROTM
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 3,002
Default

How apart is it that you can't test a switch on the handlebar? lol
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Lights Cutting out


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.