F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

How do you take your bike on LONG trips (truck / hitch / etc..)

Old 04-02-2007, 07:28 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How do you take your bike on LONG trips (truck / hitch / etc..)

Hey everybody, I'm thinking about selling my car and buying a nice pick-up truck so I can take the bike with me. I have an 06 f4i and I was wondering if anybody else totes their bike around on a nice big truck? I'm new to this whole scene, so I don't even know how to get the bike up into the bed?? And once it's up there, what's the best way to strap it down?

I was just looking for info / advice / pictures.

The reason I ask is because I live about 5 hours from "home" so when I visit my parents I would like to stay more than just a day or two which means i need some luggage, and riding that long i assume can be rather uncomfortable :-p

thanks!

Old 04-02-2007, 08:27 PM
Default RE: How do you take your bike on LONG trips (truck / hitch / etc..)

im in about the same boat as you. I cant afford to get a truck so i did some research and found out that uhaul rents out motorcycle trailers but apparantly only for round trip. good luck

Old 04-03-2007, 12:22 AM

I have a 2002F-150, regular bed and my 01 F4i fits perfectly in the bed. All you have to do istake two tow straps and wrap them around each fork/handle bar and connect the other end to thehooks in your bed. It doesnt sound overly stablebut as long as you compress the front forks then tighten the tow straps down the bike isnt going anywhere. Hope this helps.

Old 04-03-2007, 01:18 AM

BigTX - do you have any pictures of this? Also, how do you actually get the bike IN the truck...?

Old 04-03-2007, 01:19 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

If i go on long trips and i want my bike... i ride it. f4is are the most comfortable sports bike ever

Old 04-03-2007, 01:32 AM